Universities and Affiliated Colleges List in India / Central Universities List in India

Central universities / union universities in India are established by an Act of Parliament and are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry and which are directly funded by the Government of India.

Central universities List in India

University State and Location Established Specialization
Rajiv Gandhi University Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar 1985 (2007) General
Assam University Assam, Silchar 1994 General
Tezpur University Assam, Tezpur 1994 General
Central University of South Bihar Bihar, Gaya 2009 General
Mahatma Gandhi Central University Bihar, Motihari 2016 General
Nalanda University Bihar, Rajgir, Nalanda 2010 General
Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University Bihar, Pusa, Samastipur 1905 (2016) Agriculture
Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya Chhattisgarh, Bilaspur 1983 (2009) General
Indira Gandhi National Open University Delhi, New Delhi 1985 Distance education
Jamia Millia Islamia Delhi, New Delhi 1920 (1988) General
Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi Delhi, New Delhi 1969 General
South Asian University Delhi, New Delhi 2010 International university
University of Delhi Delhi, New Delhi 1922 General
Central University of Gujarat Gujarat, Gandhinagar 2009 General
Central University of Haryana Haryana, Mahendragarh 2009 General
Central University of Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh, Dharamsala 2009 General
Central University of Jammu Jammu and Kashmir, Jammu 2011 General
Central University of Kashmir Jammu and Kashmir, Srinagar 2009 General
Central University of Jharkhand Jharkhand, Ranchi 2009 General
Central University of Karnataka Karnataka, Gulbarga 2009 General
Central University of Kerala Kerala, Kasaragod 2009 General
Dr. Hari Singh Gour University Madhya Pradesh, Sagar 1946 (2009) General
Indira Gandhi National Tribal University Madhya Pradesh, Amarkantak 2007 General
Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya Maharashtra, Wardha 1997 Hindi language
Central Agricultural University Manipur, Imphal 1993 Agriculture
Manipur University Manipur, Imphal 1980 (2005) General
National Sports University Manipur, Imphal 2018 Sports
North Eastern Hill University Meghalaya, Shillong 1973 General
Mizoram University Mizoram, Aizawl 2000 General
Nagaland University Nagaland, Lumami 1994 General
Central University of Orissa, Koraput Odisha, Koraput 2009 General
Pondicherry University Puducherry, Pondicherry 1985 General
Central University of Punjab Punjab, Bathinda 2009 General
Central University of Rajasthan Rajasthan, Ajmer 2009 General
Sikkim University Sikkim, Gangtok 2007 General
Central University of Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu, Tiruvarur 2009 General
Indian Maritime University Tamil Nadu, Chennai 2008 Marine science
English and Foreign Languages University Telangana, Hyderabad 1958 (2007) English and Foreign languages
Maulana Azad National Urdu University Telangana, Hyderabad 1998 Urdu language
University of Hyderabad Telangana, Hyderabad 1974 General
Tripura University Tripura, Agartala 1987 General
Aligarh Muslim University Uttar Pradesh, Aligarh 1920 General
University of Allahabad Uttar Pradesh, Allahabad 1887 General
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow 1996 General
Banaras Hindu University Uttar Pradesh, Varanasi 1916 General
Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University Uttar Pradesh, Raebareli 2013 Aviation Science
Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University Uttar Pradesh, Jhansi 2014 Agriculture
Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University Uttarakhand, Srinagar 1973 (2009) General
Visva-Bharati University West Bengal, Santiniketan 1921 General

Home     Back