General Knowledge / Indian Presidents List

President of India holds the highest elective office in the country and is elected in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution and the Presidential and vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952

S.No Name Party Period Details
1 Rajendra Prasad
Indian National Congress 1952-1962 He is from Bihar, was the longest-serving president and a freedom fighter during the Indian independence movement.
2 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Independent 1962-1967 He is a philosopher and writer and vice-chancellor of the Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University. He received the Bharat Ratna award in 1954 before becoming the President.
3 Zakir Husain Independent 1967-1969 He is a first Muslim President, vice-chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna and also shortest-serving President.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1969 He was elected Vice President of India in 1967. Following the death of President Zakir Husain, Giri was appointed as Acting President.
Mohammad Hidayatullah 1969 He served as the Chief Justice of India, Acting President.
4 Varahagiri Venkata Giri Independent 1969-1974 Giri was the first person to have served as both an acting president and president of India.
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Indian National Congress 1974-1977 He served as a Minister before being elected as president. He died in 1977 before his term of office ended, and was the second Indian president to die in office. He was also president during Emergency.
Basappa Danappa Jatti 1977 He was the vice president of India during Ahmed's term of office, the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore State.
6 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy Janata Party 1977-1982 He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh.
7 Zail Singh Indian National Congress 1982-1987 In March 1972, He assumed the position of Chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister. He was also secretary general to Non-Aligned Movement.
8 Ramaswamy Venkataraman Indian National Congress 1987-1992 He first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and Minister of Defense.
9 Shankar Dayal Sharma Indian National Congress 1992-1997 He was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications and Governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra.
10 Kocheril Raman Narayanan Independent 1997-2002 He served as India's ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He received doctorates in Science and Law the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University.
11 Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam Independent 2002-2007 He was an educator and engineer who played a leading role in the development of India's ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs. He also received the Bharat Ratna.
12 Pratibha Patil Indian National Congress 2007-2012 He was the first woman to become the President of India and first female governor of Rajasthan.
13 Pranab Mukherjee Indian National Congress 2012-2017 He held various posts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India such as Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, and Defense Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.
14 Ram Nath Kovind Bharatiya Janata Party 2017 He was governor of Bihar, and a Member of Parliament

Home     Back