General Knowledge / List of vice presidents of India

The Vice President of India is the second highest constitutional office in the Government of India after the President. In accordance with Article 65 of the Constitution of India, the vice president discharges the functions of the president when a contingency arises due to the resignation, removal, death, impeachment or the inability of the president to discharge their functions. They are also the ex officiochairperson of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Parliament of India.

The vice president is elected by an electoral college consisting of all the members of both houses of the Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote via a secret ballot conducted by the Election Commission of India. Once elected the vice president continues in office for a five-year term, but can continue in office irrespective of the expiry of the term, until a successor assumes office. They can be removed by a resolution passed by an effective majority in the Rajya Sabha.] They are responsible for the protection of the rights and privileges of the members of the Council of States. They also decide whether a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a financial bill or not.

No. vice president Name
Term in years President(s) Party
1 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
10 Rajendra Prasad Independent
Zakir Husain (1897–1969) 25 Zakir Husain Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
3 V. V. Giri
2 Zakir Husain Independent
4 Gopal Swarup Pathak
5 V. V. Giri (1969–1974)
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974)
5 B. D. Jatti
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1974–1977)
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1977–1979)
6 Mohammad Hidayatullah
5 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1979–1982)
Zail Singh (1982–1984)
7 R. Venkataraman
3 Zail Singh Indian
8 Shankar Dayal Sharma
5 R. Venkataraman Indian National Congress
9 K. R. Narayanan
5 Shankar Dayal Sharma Indian National Congress
10 Krishan Kant(1927–2002) 5 K. R. Narayanan (1997–2002)
Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam(2002)
Janata Dal
11 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
5 Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam Bharatiya Janata Party
12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari
10 Pratibha Patil (2007–2012)
Pranab Mukherjee (2012–2017)
Ram Nath Kovind (2017)
Indian National Congress
Indian National Congress
13 Venkaiah Naidu
Ram Nath Kovind Bharatiya Janata Party

Home     Back