General Knowledge / List of Nuclear Power Stations in India

A nuclear power plant is a thermal power station in which the heat source is a nuclear reactor. As it is typical of thermal power stations, heat is used to generate steam that drives a steam turbine connected to a generator that produces electricity.

Nuclear power is the fifth largest source of electricity in India after coal, gas, hydroelectricity and wind power. As of March 2018, India has 22 nuclear reactors in operation in 7 nuclear power plants, having a total installed capacity of 6,780 MW.

Nuclear Power Corporation of India (Operator = NPCIL)
Power station State Type Total capacity (MW)
Kaiga Karnataka PHWR 880
Kakrapar Gujarat PHWR 440
Kudankulam Tamil Nadu VVER-1000 2,000
Madras (Kalpakkam) Tamil Nadu PHWR 440
Narora Uttar Pradesh PHWR 440
Rajasthan Rajasthan PHWR 1,180
Tarapur Maharashtra BWR
Total 6,780

Home     Back