General Knowledge / Lists Of First Men In India

Achievement of Person Name
First  Chief Election Commissioner  Sukumar Sen
First Chief Justice of India H. J. Kania (1947–1951)
First Chief Minister to die in Office C.N.Annadurai, Tamil Nadu
First Deputy Prime Minister Vallabhbhai Patel (1947–1950)
First Finance Minister of Independent India R.K. Shanmukhan Chetty (1947–1949)
First Governor-General of Independent India Lord Mountbatten, 1947
First Governor-General of India Warren Hastings, 1773
First Home Minister of India Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
First Indian Governor-General of Indian Union C Rajagopalachari, 1948
First Indian ICS Officer Satyendranath Tagore, 1863
First Indian President to die in Office Zakir Hussain, 3 May 1969
First Indian Prime Minister to resign from office Morarji Desai, 1979
First Industries and Supplies Minister Shyama Prasad Mukherjee
First Law Minister of India B. R. Ambedkar
First Leader of Opposition A. K. Gopalan
First Muslim President Zakir Hussain (1967–1969)
First Non-Congress government Janata Party, with Morarji Desai as the Prime Minister (1977–1980)
First Non-Congress State government with Majority by a single party E. M. S. Namboodiripad of CPI, Kerala 1957
First Person outside the Nehru-Gandhi family to serve as Prime Minister for a full term (five years) P. V. Narasimha Rao, 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996
First person to resign from the Central Cabinet Shyama Prasad Mukherjee
First Presentation of First Budget after India's Independence R. K. Shanmukhan Chetty on 26 November 1947
First President Rajendra Prasad (1950–1962)
First President of the Indian National Congress Wyomesh Chandra Bannerjee, 1885
First President of the Indian National Congress of independent India Acharya Kripalani, till November 1947
First Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.
First Prime Minister from South India P. V. Narasimha Rao, 1991,
First Prime Minister to be born after India's independence Narendra Modi , 17 September 1950(birth)
First Prime Minister to be voted out of office Indira Gandhi (1977), when the Indian National Congress lost to the Janata Party
First Prime Minister to lead a minority government for a full term (five years) P. V. Narasimha Rao, 21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996
First Sikh President Giani Zail Singh
First Sikh Prime Minister Manmohan Singh (2004–2014)
First Speaker of Lok Sabha G.V. Mavlankar (1952–1956)
First Vice-President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
First Viceroy of India Lord Canning, 1858
First woman Cabinet Minister in India Rajkumari Amrit Kaur
First woman Chief Minister Sucheta Kriplani
First woman Finance Minister of State Government in India Dr. Upinderjit Kaur, in Punjab Govt.
First woman Governor of a State Sarojini Naidu (Governor of Uttar Pradesh, 1947–49)
First woman Home Minister Sabitha Indra Reddy in Andhra Pradesh Govt.
First woman Minister in India Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit
First Woman President Pratibha Patil (2007–2012)
First woman Speaker of the Lok Sabha Meira Kumar
First Women Railway Minister of India Mamata Banerjee
First Man in space Rakesh Sharma aboard Soyuz T-11, on 3 April 1984. He was the 138th man in space worldwide.
First Indian Woman in space Kalpana Chawla aboard Space Shuttle Columbia flight STS-87, on 19 November 1997. She was a naturalized United States citizen, and represented the US during the event.
First Test-tube baby Durga Agarwal, born 1978
Youngest Woman in the world to climb Everest Malavath Purna on 25 May 2014 at the age of 13.
First Woman to scale Mount Everest Bachendri Pal on 23 May 1984. She was the 5th woman in the world to scale the peak.
First Woman to reach South Pole Reena Kaushal Dharmshaktu
First Person to reach the South Pole Bijoy Kumar Das
First Person to reach the North Pole Jagannathan Srinivasaraghavan on April 23, 1985.
First Person to have walked across Gobi desert Sucheta Kadethankar
First Person to fly in a balloon and land in a parachute Shibnath Majumdar
Chief of Air Staff Air Marshal Sir Thomas Elmhurst
Chief of Naval Staff Vice Admiral R D Katari
Commander-in-Chief of Free India General Sir Roy Bucher
Commander-in-Chief, IAF Air Marshal Subroto Mukherjee, 1954
Cosmonaut Sqn. Ldr. Rakesh Sharma, 1984
Defence Minister of India Baldev Singh
Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw, 1973
First female jawan in the Army Sapper Shanti Tigga
First Indian (pre Independence) flying ace  Indra Lal Roy
First Param Vir Chakra Winner Major Som Nath Sharma
Indian Chief of Staff General Kodandera Madappa Cariappa, 1947
Indian Commander-in-Chief of Free India General Kodandera Madappa Cariappa, 1949
India's first military helicopter pilot Air Commodore Sudhindra Kumar Majumdar
President of Indian Republic Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Home     Back